The UK Employee Ownership Awards celebrate business excellence in employee owned businesses and the contribution the employee owned sector makes to the UK economy.

The awards, managed by the Employee Ownership Association, and sponsored by leading EOA member Baxendale, recognise the performance of employee owned businesses - that typically excel when it comes to productivity, innovation, employee voice and culture - driven by teams and individuals.

The six 2018 winners and 10 highly commended businesses and individuals were revealed on Monday 19 November at the EOA Gala Dinner at the Hilton Metropole Birmingham.

You can read about the winner from each award category by clicking on the story links below.

A true champion of employee ownership inside the business and beyond

Winner: Angela Brown - Childbase Partnership - read about Angela's win Highly Commended: Erin Gill - Arup/ Cheryl Rodrigues - RISE Mutual CIC  

A business that in its first years of being employee owned is exhibiting a culture that enables its employee owners to drive a strong financial performance

Winner: Alfa Leisureplex Group - read about their win
Highly Commended: Mindworks Marketing/ TensCare

An established employee owned businesses with a culture that drives its excellent all-round business performance

Winner: Parfetts - read their story
Highly Commended: Collective Architecture/ Woollard and Henry/ The Oak Investment Partnership

An employee-led mutual that is using its EO culture to drive great impacts for the business and the communities it serves

Winner: Community Dental Services - read about their story
Highly Commended: First Community Health and Care/ East Coast Community Healthcare

An employee owned business that has developed an ownership culture where employees feel a substantial, personal stake in the businesses performance

Winner: Gripple - read about their win
Highly Commended: Childbase Partnership/ East Coast Community Healthcare

Philip Baxendale Fellowship Award

This award is for an individual who has in the past made, or is currently making, an outstanding contribution to the growth of employee ownership in the UK.

This year the award was judged by Patrick Burns, Ewan Hall, Director of Baxendale. Graeme Nuttall OBE, Partner of Fieldfisher and EOA CEO Deb Oxley.

2018 winner of the award: Hugh Facey Read his story



Judges 2018

Each award will be judged by a minimum of five judges from the panel below:
Ewan Hall Director Baxendale
Guy Tomlinson Capability & Strategy Director BMT
Simon Holman Partner Castlefield Partners Limited
Jane Burgess Partners' Counsellor John Lewis Partnership
Beth Carruthers  Non-Exec Director Remploy Ltd
Nicola Ryan Head of People Services Rowlinson Knitwear
Kate Ludlow Consultant & Trustee Saxton Bampfylde
Sarah Deas Head of Inclusive Models Scottish Enterprise
Rhian Edwards Project Manager Wales Cooperative Centre
Andrew Pendleton Project Lead White Rose Employee Ownership Centre
Guest Judge:
Jonathan Lindley Director, Mutuals Programme Department for Digital, Culture Media & Sport

2018 Gallery

  • alt

Sponsored by