The Employee Ownership (EO) Sector Group

The group meets quarterly bringing together a wide range of expertise from across the EO sector and seeks to influence awareness and support for Employee Ownership in the UK. The Group is chaired by Chief Executive of the EOA Deb Oxley.



Clayton Hirst, Group Head of Corporate Affairs, John Lewis Partnership

Clayton leads government and external relations for the John Lewis Partnership, the UK’s largest employee owned business which comprises John Lewis and Waitrose.

John Lewis Partnership



Sarah Deas , Director – Scottish Enterprise & Co-operative Development Scotland

Sarah’s professional background is in strategy, marketing and business development within international companies. She heads up Co-operative Development Scotland, which is the arm of Scottish Enterprise working in partnership with Highlands and Islands Enterprise that supports company growth through employee ownership business models.




Graeme Nuttall OBE, Partner, Fieldfisher

Graeme is a solicitor and chartered tax adviser and leads the Fieldfisher Employee and Mutual Ownership Team. He received an OBE in the Queen’s 2014 Birthday Honours for services to employee share plans, public service mutuals and employee ownership. He belonged to the HM Treasury Advisory Group that developed the UK’s tax advantaged share incentive plan and enterprise management incentives arrangement.

As the Government’s independent adviser on employee ownership, he wrote “The Nuttall Review of Employee Ownership”.
The new tax framework for employee-ownership trusts is as a result of the findings of the Nuttall Review.
Graeme is also a Cabinet Office Mutuals Ambassador and Chairman of a number of employee trust boards.




John Eckersley, CEO, Capital for Colleagues

John leads the investment entity, Capital for Colleagues, which provides finance to businesses looking to transition to employee ownership, or to those which are already co-owned but in need of development capital. John has more than 25 years investment experience and co-founded employee owned business Castlefield Investment Partners LLP, of which he is Managing Partner, in 2002.



Ewan Hall, Director, Baxendale Advisory Limited

Baxendale’s group has been employee owned since 1983. Ewan leads Baxendale’s employee ownership advisory team. He has been advising on employee ownership since 2003 and typically works with dozens of employee-owned organisations each year. He holds a number of trustee / trustee director posts with employee- owned organisations and is regularly asked to speak at employee ownership events across the UK.



Ann Tyler, Employee Ownership Insight

Ann is Chair of Employee Ownership Insight. A Cambridge graduate and qualified solicitor, she has over 30 years’ experience of legal and policy advice, and consulting work, in the field of employee ownership. She advised on employee ownership schemes in a wide variety or public and private companies, setting up the first ESOP in the UK, in Roadchef Limited.



Patrick Burns, Employee Ownership Insight

Patrick is former consultant on mutualising public services for employee owned Prospects and is a former chief executive of EOA and now non-exec director. He is a board member of Eaga Trust, an employee ownership investor, and chairs the shareholder council of employee owned Care & Share Associates.